Illinois Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Resources

According to 5 ILCS 140 – Illinois Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), “Requests for inspection or copies shall be made in writing and directed to the public body. Written requests may be submitted to a public body via personal delivery, mail, telefax, or other means available to the public body.” This includes submitting a FOIA request via email to the public body.

5 ILCS 140 also states that “A public body may not require that a request be submitted on a standard form …” It is not necessary to use the form provided by a public body, and a public body is required by law to respond to requests stated in an email. Forms are usually burdensome, ask for unnecessary requester information (and web-forms may be used to collect user data), and may not provide the requester with proof of submission.

We suggest always submitting FOIA requests by email. No special language is needed, and a requester need not even mention “FOIA” or “Freedom of Information Act”. All that is required is that you ask for public records, which may include documents, emails, video, audio, text messages, and virtually anything that contains information.

Public bodies are not required to create documents which do not exist, or answer questions. However, the answer to a question can often be acquired by requesting the appropriate records. The public body is required to make a reasonable effort to locate records that fill your request.

Listed below are the email addresses for the FOIA officer or contact person for each public body.

EntityContactEmail
City of UrbanaPhyllis D ClarkCityClerk@urbanaillinois.us
City of Urbana FOIA OfficerCurt Bormancsborman@urbanaillinois.us
Urbana Police Department FOIA OfficerAnthony Weckweckac@urbanaillinois.us
City of ChampaignMarilyn L Banksfoiocity@champaignil.gov
Champaign Police DepartmentChristene Minerfoiopolice@champaignil.gov
Champaign Fire Department (via City of Champaign)Marilyn L Banksfoiocity@champaignil.gov
Champaign Public LibraryFOIO Libraryfoiolibrary@champaign.org
MetcadFOIO Metcadfoiometcad@champaignil.gov
Champaign-Urbana Public Health DistrictPatricia Robinsonprobinson@c-uphd.org
Champaign-Urbana Mass Transit DistrictFOIO MTDFOIO@mtd.org
Illinois State PoliceBruce KuglerISP.FOIA.Officer@illinois.gov
Illinois Attorney GeneralCaitlin Q Knuttefoiaofficer@atg.state.il.us
University of IllinoisThomas P Hardyfoia@uillinois.edu
Champaign County Departments
Administrative ServicesDarlene Kloeppeldkloeppel@co.champaign.il.us
Animal ControlStephanie JoosSjoos@champaign.il.us
AuditorGeorge Danosgdanos@co.champaign.il.us
Board of HealthDarlene Kloeppeldkloeppel@co.champaign.il.us
Board of ReviewElizabeth B Pattoneab10584@co.champaign.il.us
Children's Advocacy CenterKari Maykmay@co.champaign.il.us
CoronerDuane NorthrupDnorthrup@co.champaign.il.us
County BoardDarlene Kloeppeldkloeppel@co.champaign.il.us
County ClerkAaron Ammonsaammons@co.champaign.il.us
Emergency Management AgencyJohn Dwyerjdwyer@co.champaign.il.us
Highway DepartmentJeff Bluejblue@co.champaign.il.us
Information TechnologyAndrew RhodesArhodes@co.champaign.il.us
Mental Health & Developmental Disabilities BoardStephanie Howard-Gallostephanie@ccmhb.org
Planning & ZoningJohn Halljhall@co.champaign.il.us
Public PropertiesDana Brennerdbrenner@co.champaign.il.us
PurchasingDarlene Kloeppeldkloeppel@co.champaign.il.us
Recorder of DeedsMark SheldenMShelden@co.champaign.il.us
Regional Planning CommissionDalityso Sulamoyodsulamoyo@ccrpc.org
Sheriff's Office (Law Enforcement)Curt Appersonsherifffoia@co.champaign.il.us
Sheriff's Office (Jail, Corrections)Robert Cravenssherifffoia@co.champaign.il.us
Champaign County State's Attorney's OfficeJulia RietzJrietz@co.champaign.il.us
Champaign County State's Attorney's OfficeBarb Mannbmann@co.champaign.il.us
Supervisor of AssessmentsPaula Batespbates@co.champaign.il.us
TreasurerLaurel L Prussingtreasurer@co.champaign.il.us
Veterans Assistance CommissionBrad Gouldbgould@co.champaign.il.us